• gco
  • gco
  • gco
  • gco


The Leaf-Chronicle presents the 2016-17 Masterworks Series


The Gateway Chamber Orchestra is pleased to announce the 2016-17 Season, Our Heritage: Celebrating Beauty, Courage, and Spirituality. In Clarksville our four-concert Leaf-Chronicle Masterworks Series will be performed at Mabry Concert Hall, located on the Austin Peay State University campus.


Our Franklin concerts will be held on Monday evenings at the historic Franklin Theatre, and we invite you to enjoy one of the popular restaurants nearby for pre-concert dining and free parking all along Main Street. The Williamson Herald will be sponsoring our first Masterworks Series concert in September.


Drawing inspiration from influences that shape our communities and mold character, we are thrilled to bring you Conni Ellisor’s Blackberry Winter showcasing Stephen Seifert, an outstanding dulcimer soloist. Critics say, “For those looking for an orchestral sound that is uniquely American, Conni Ellisor provides the sound…”


Explore Arvo Part's “creative silence” with its fascinating layered music and venture through the stunning imagery of Become River by John Luther Adams. This work, like a mountain stream, starts with a single high descending line gradually expanding into a delta of melodic streams that flows toward the depths of the ocean. Another treasure the GCO will be sharing is The Wound Dresser by John Adams. The poignant text is delivered in the rich tones of acclaimed baritone Jeffrey Williams.


The GCO is known for its authentic, nuanced interpretations of Mozart and Haydn and this year is no exception. The GCO will perform Haydn’s triumphant Military Symphony as well as Mozart’s joyful Jupiter Symphony, with both of these leaving you exhilarated!


The popular Family and Children’s Series brings Peter & the Wolf, one of the most recognized and best-loved classics, to the stage in November. Children's drawings, animated by the talented duo, Black & Jones, create a whimsical backdrop for this entertaining introduction to the orchestra. In March, celebrated children’s author Anna Celenza returns to narrate the amazing story behind Vivaldi’s masterpiece, The Four Seasons, which features GCO concertmaster Jessica Blackwell. *(Clarksville only)


Our annual Winter Baroque program heralds the holiday season with soloists, special selections and the opportunity to sing favorite Christmas carols. *(Clarksville only)


We invite you to join us for this legacy of hand-picked classics. Our Heritage: Celebrating Beauty, Courage, and Spirituality is full of timeless masterpieces, overlooked treasures and modern works that will speak directly to you!


Family and Children Concert  II

Vivaldi's Four Seasons

with Anna celenza, author
and Jessica Blackwell, violin

Antonio Vivaldi  
Selections from The Four Seasons


Our critically acclaimed Family Series welcomes back celebrated author Anna Celenza to narrate the story of Vivaldi’s magnificent work. Inspired by girls at a Venetian orphanage where Vivaldi taught and conducted, the masterpiece “The Four Seasons” marks the passing of time. GCO concertmaster Jessica Blackwell is our featured soloist. Be sure to come early for fun pre-concert activities and a children’s Instrument Petting Zoo.

March 19, 2017 3:00 p.m.

George and Sharon Mabry Concert Hall
Austin Peay State University
Clarksville, Tennessee



Support the GCO

with your grocery and

online shopping

Kroger Community Rewards

Kroger is committed to helping our communities grow and prosper. Nonprofit organizations earn million of dollars through Kroger Community Rewards. Just shop and swipe your Plus Card.

Enroll in Kroger Community Rewards to support the GCO today! (See Instructions)



Amazon Smile 

Click below and select to support the "Gateway Chamber Orchestra" through your online shopping.

When you shop at smile.amazon.com, Amazon donates. 


Amazon Smile


Wind Serenades Chamber Symphonies Reinecke Cello Concerto                                                            Mabry Concert Hall at Austin Peay State University Franklin Theatre