top of page

In 2021, the Gateway Chamber Orchestra presented AMERICA'S HAYDN FESTIVAL, a virtual concert series celebrating the music of the “Father of the Symphony” and the “Father of the String Quartet,” composer Franz Joseph Haydn. America’s Haydn Festival, sponsored by Google, featured concerts by GCO, recognized for nuanced performances of Haydn; GRAMMY-nominated St. Lawrence String Quartet, considered North America’s most expressive interpreters of Haydn; exuberant pianist Henry Kramer; celebrated children’s author and musicologist Anna Celenza; and emerging cellist Michael Samis. Hosted by Peabody Award-winning classical radio host, Bill McGlaughlin, the festival intends to raise the awareness and relevance of Papa Haydn’s music for audiences today. In addition to landmark works by Haydn, the festival also featured works by Osvaldo Golijov, William Grant Still, Maurice Ravel and recent Pulitzer Prize-winner Caroline Shaw.

View the 2021 Concert Program HERE.

Stay tuned for information about our next festival!

Bill McGlaughlin.jpg

Image Credit: Bill Richert

Festival Host


Thursday, May 16, at 7:30pm

Franz Joseph HAYDN: String Quartet Op. 20, No. 2
Osvoldo GOLIJOV: Qohelet (composed for SLSQ in 2011)
Franz Joseph HAYDN: String Quartet Op.76 No. 1


Premiere: Thursday, May 13, at 7:30pm CDT

Franz Joseph HAYDN: String Quartet, Op. 20, No. 2, Hob. III/32
Osvoldo GOLIJOV: Qohelet
Franz Joseph HAYDN: String Quartet, Op. 76, No. 1, Hob. III/75

Image Credit: Marco Borggreve

Papa Haydn's Farewell Symphony:
A Family Concert with Anna Celenza

Premiere: Sunday, May 16, at 3:00pm CDT

Franz Joseph HAYDN: Symphony No. 45 "Farewell," Hob. I/45


Image Credit: @GrittaniCreative

Premiere: Thursday, May 20, at 7:30pm CDT

Franz Joseph HAYDN: Variations in F minor, Hob. XVII/6
William Grant STILL: Three Visions for Piano
Franz Joseph HAYDN: Piano Sonata in E-flat major, Hob. XVI/49 
Franz Joseph HAYDN: Piano Sonata in E minor, Hob. XVI/34
Maurice RAVEL: Le Tombeau de Couperin 

Samis SQ.jpeg

Caroline SHAW: Entr'acte
Franz Joseph HAYDN: Cello Concerto No. 2, Hob. VIIb/2

Cristina SPINEI: Prelude
Franz Joseph HAYDN: Symphony No. 96 "Miracle,"  Hob. I/96

Gateway Chamber Orchestra 
featuring Michael Samis, cello

Premiere: Sunday, May 23, at 3:00pm CDT

bottom of page